

2024 Joint Workshops in Macroeconomics

Venue: Crowne Plaza Adelaide, 27 Frome Street, Adelaide, SA 5000 Date: 21-22 November 2024

Sponsors









CENTRE FOR APPLIED MACROECONOMIC ANALYSIS CRAWFORD SCHOOL OF PUBLIC POLICY



Research School of Economics



Expectations in Dynamic Macro Models Conference

Date: 21 November 2024

8.30am – 8:50am	Registration and Arrival Tea/Coffee
8.50am – 9.00am	Acknowledgement and Welcome Remarks,
	Associate Professor Tim Legrand, Deputy Dean, Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Economics, The University of Adelaide

Session 1

Chair: Christopher Gibbs (University of Sydney)

9.00am – 9.35am	The Sentiment Channel of Monetary Policy
	Pratiti Chatterjee (University of Western Australia)
9:35am – 10.10am	Superstar Firms and Aggregate Fluctuations
	Oscar Pavlov (University of Tasmania)
10.10am – 10.45am	Macroprudential Policy under Learning from Prices with Misperception
	Yeow Hwee Chua (Nanyang Technological University)

10:45am - 11.15am Morning Tea

Session 2

Chair: Bruce McGough (University of Oregon)

11.15am – 11:50am	Heterogeneous Attention to Inflation and Monetary Policy
	Ekaterina Shabalina (Reserve Bank of Australia)
11:50am – 12.25pm	Learning, Heuristics and Structural Change: How do Different Types of Consumers Learn about Inflation?
	Kevin Lee (University of Nottingham)



12.25pm – 12.55pm

On the Zero-Inflation Norm of Japanese Firms

Otaka Kazuki (Bank of Japan)

1.00pm – 2.00pm Lunch

Session 3

Chair: Bruce Preston (UNSW Sydney)

2.00pm – 2.35pm	Learning about monetary policy in THANK
	Christopher Gibbs (University of Sydney)
2.35pm – 3:10pm	Resolving New Keynesian Puzzles
	Nigel McClung (Bank of Finland)
3:10pm – 3.45pm	Connecting Exchange Rates to Fundamentals Under Indeterminacy
	Yasuo Hirose (Keio University)

3.45pm – 4.15pm Afternoon Tea

Session 4 (Masterclass)

- 4.15pm 5.15pmHow do we learn about the long-run?Bruce Preston (UNSW Sydney)
- 5.15pm 5.25pm Closing Remarks

6.30pm – 9.00pm Dinner – Koomo Restaurant and Bar, Crowne Plaza, Adelaide



9th Continuing Education in Macroeconometrics

Date: 22 November 2024

8.30am – 8:50am	Registration and Arrival Tea/Coffee
8.50am – 9.00am	Acknowledgement and Welcome Remarks,
	Associate Professor Sylvia Villios, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies,
	Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Economics, The University of Adelaide

Session 1 (Masterclass)

Chair: James Morley (University of Sydney)

9.00am – 10.00am	Identification of Fiscal Shocks
	Sarah Zubairy (Texas A&M University)

Session 2 Chair: Benjamin Wong (Monash University)

10.05am – 10.30am	A Constrained Dynamic Nelson-Siegel Model for Monetary Policy Analysis
	Jamie Cross (University of Melbourne)
10.30am – 10.55am	Sign Restrictions and Supply-demand Decompositions of Inflation
	Matthew Read (Reserve Bank of Australia)
10.55am – 11.20am	Speaking of Inflation: The Influence of Fed Speeches on Expectations
	Greta Meggiorini (University of Auckland)

11:20 - 11.40 am Morning Tea



Session 3

Chair: Jacob Wong (University of Adelaide)

11.40am – 12.05pm	Public Debt Management and Fiscal Hedging
	Yunpeng Deng (University of Melbourne)
12.05pm – 12.30pm	The Cash Flow Channel of Monetary Policy in the Presence of Liquid Wealth
	Nalini Prasad (University of New South Wales)
12.30pm – 12.55pm	Piecewise Linear Solutions for Non-Stationary Models
	Mariano Kulish (University of Sydney)

1.00 – 2.00 pm Lunch

Session 4

Chair: Firmin Doko Tchatoka (University of Adelaide)

2.00pm – 2.25pm	Identification of High-dimensional Panel Vector Autoregressions with Application to Spillover Forecasting
	Zhiruo Zhang (University of Adelaide)
2.25pm – 2.50pm	An Approach for Specifying Impulse Response Functions in Dynamic Factor Models
	Abby Nguyen (Monash University)
2.50pm – 3.15pm	Does Monetary Policy Uncertainty Moderate the Transmission of Policy Shocks to Government Bond Yields?
	Shan Ying (University of Melbourne)
3.15pm – 3.40pm	Estimating Inflation Expectations in Australia Using Multiple Measures
	Jack Mulqueeney (Reserve Bank of Australia)

3.40 – 4.00 pm Afternoon Tea



Session 5 (Masterclass)

Chair: Qazi Haque (University of Adelaide)

- 4.00pm 5.00pmGovernment Spending and Fiscal ForesightGuido Ascari (University of Pavia and De Nederlandsche Bank)
- 5.00pm 5.15pm Closing Remarks

Committee members

EDMM Scientific Committee

George Evans (University of Oregon), Albert Marcet (ICREA-CREI, UPF and BSE), Bruce Preston (UNSW Sydney), Bruce McGough (University of Oregon), Christopher Gibbs (University of Sydney)

CEM Scientific Committee

James Morley (University of Sydney), Qazi Haque (University of Adelaide), Benjamin Wong (Monash University), Firmin Doko Tchatoka (University of Adelaide)