

THE DECIE DENHOLM POSTGRADUATE COURSEWORK SCHOLARSHIP IN HISTORY

BACKGROUND

In 2020, Decie Aileen Denholm bequeathed \$1M to the University for the purpose of establishing scholarships for postgraduate students studying history.

In 2011, Mrs Denholm made a generous gift to the University to establish the LF and D Denholm Scholarship, a supplementary postgraduate research scholarship for students in the field of European (including British) History, made in memory of her late husband Lawrence Forbes Denholm and the life they made together.

Mrs Denholm was a University of Adelaide employee for 22 years and Visiting Research Fellow. She has been a long-term and generous benefactor of the University of Adelaide.

The following rules are hereby made:-

RULES OF THE SCHOLARSHIP

- 1. The Scholarship shall be known as the "Decie Denholm Postgraduate Coursework Scholarship in History".
- 2. One Scholarship will be offered annually or as determined by the Head of Department to outstanding candidates intending to undertake postgraduate coursework study in history.

Eligibility

- 3. To be eligible to apply, a candidate must:
 - o be an Australian citizen or permanent resident of Australia;
 - be a student who has or will have graduated from the University of Adelaide at the time that they take up the scholarship;
 - Commenced or be eligible to commence a postgraduate coursework program of study in the year for which the scholarship is being awarded at the University of Adelaide in the area of history (including but not limited to ancient history, heritage and museum studies, art history, history of science).
 - o submit a completed application form along with details of their proposed study.
- 4. Students in receipt of other University of Adelaide Scholarships are not eligible for this Scholarship.
- 5. The value of the Scholarship shall be \$20,000 per annum or as determined by the Selection Committee according to available income.
- 6. The Scholarship is available for the normal duration of the full-time program and for no longer than two years.

7. The Scholarship will be payable in two equal instalments per annum direct to the student following confirmation of enrolment and satisfactory academic progress after each of the census dates (usually 31 March and 31 August each year).

Selection of Candidates

- 8. The Scholarship will be awarded by a Selection Panel consisting of:-
 - the Head of Department of History (Chair);
 - two senior academic members of the School of Humanities (as nominated by the Head of Department of History)

taking into account academic merit.

Administration

- 9. No payments will commence until evidence of enrolment in the program at the University is provided by the successful recipient.
- 10. Tenure and continuation of the Scholarship will be subject to satisfactory academic progress, and aligned with the normal procedures of the University.
- 11. The Scholarship shall be administered by the Faculty of Arts.
- 12. The Scholarship must be taken up in the year in which it is offered; acceptance of the scholarship offer cannot be deferred. If a student declines the scholarship offer, the scholarship may be offered to the next eligible candidate. If a student becomes unwell and unable to undertake their proposed study, deferral of the Scholarship may be considered by the Selection Panel on a case by case basis.
- 13. No award shall be made if it is deemed by the Selection Panel that there is no candidate of sufficient merit.
- 14. The scholarship will be terminated and funds may be recouped where:
 - a student ceases to be enrolled in the approved program of study;
 - a student has failed to maintain satisfactory academic progress for two consecutive semesters;
 - a student has provided false or misleading information with regard to their personal details;
 - a student has failed to maintain satisfactory academic progress.
- 15. The University may vary the Rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the University's legal obligations and policies.

Rules approved by Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Vice-President (Academic) 15 November 2021