University Trust Record (UTR)



UTR1.223 - CHARLES RISCHBIETH JURY POETRY PRIZE

Background -

- A. By Deed of Gift dated 6 August 2018 Dr Barbara Wall donated \$25,000 to the University to support prize(s) at the University.
- B. Dr Barbara Wall was a student and friend of Charles Rischbieth Jury (1893 1958), as well as being his literary executor. Charles Rischbieth Jury was a poet, dramatist, scholar, soldier, and Jury Professor of English at the University of Adelaide.
- C. The University accepted the donation upon the trusts specified by the donor and the donation therefore became the capital subject to those trusts ('capital sum').

Name of the fund

1. The capital sum, all income arising from the capital sum and any accumulations and additions thereto together form a fund called the 'Charles Rischbieth Jury Poetry Prize' ('fund').

Investment of the fund

2. The fund is to be amalgamated for the purposes of investment, and held in a common fund, and the net income earned by the common fund shall be credited, rateably, to the funds so amalgamated and thereafter distributed according to the trusts specified by the donor.

Obligations

- 3. In administering the fund, the University must adhere to the terms specified and is obliged:-
 - (a) to invest the capital sum according to the directions of the donors; and
 - (b) to establish and maintain in perpetuity a prize to be administered in accordance with the following Rules.

Rules

Title

1. The prize shall be known as the 'Charles Rischbieth Jury Poetry Prize'.

Value

2. The value of the Prize shall be \$1,400 or such other amount as the University shall from time to time determine provided that the value of the prize does not exceed the annual distribution of income available from the Endowment Fund.

Eligibility

12 November 2024 Page 1 of 2

University Trust Record (UTR)



- 3. To be eligible for the prize candidates must be residing within Australia and must submit a poem in English of not greater than five A4 typed pages in length, using a 12-point font, by 1 June each year.
- 4. Previous recipients of the Charles Rischbieth Jury Poetry Prize are ineligible to enter the competition for the two subsequent years.
- 5. Candidates are ineligible if they:-
 - have provided false or misleading information that has a relationship to the awarding of this Prize;
 - have been found guilty of misconduct by the Student Misconduct Tribunal and have had relevant penalties imposed on them in accordance with the University's Policies, Rules and Statutes for Student Misconduct.

Selection of Candidate

- 6. The Prize will be awarded annually to the applicant who submits the best poem as judged by the Selection Committee. The Selection Committee shall include:-
 - the Jury Chair of English Language and Literature (Chair) (or nominee);
 - an academic staff member from the department of English who teaches poetry (as nominated by the Chair); and
 - a suitably qualified community poet resident in Australia invited to serve for a one year term without remuneration (as nominated by the Chair).
- 7. If the Prize is not awarded in any year, then the available income distribution shall be added to the capital sum in the Endowment Fund.

Administration and Variations

- 8. The Prize will be administered by the Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Economics and payments will be processed by the Coursework Scholarships and Prizes Office.
- 9. The University may vary the rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the University's legal obligations and policies.
- 10. The University reserves the right to withdraw the Prize if the Student Misconduct Tribunal has found the student guilty of misconduct and imposed a relevant penalty, including, but not limited to, having provided false or misleading information that has a relationship to the awarding of this Prize in accordance with the University's Policies, Rules and Statutes for Student Misconduct.
- 11. Once the Prize has been withdrawn for that year, it may be re-awarded to the next eligible student at the discretion of the Department and subject to available funding.

Approved by Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Vice-President (Academic) 5 November 2024

12 November 2024 Page 2 of 2