School of Economics & Public Policy: 2023 Highlights

To wrap up 2023, the Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Economics is reflecting on the year that was and featuring highlights from each school.

Head of School of Economics and Public Policy, Professor Fiona Yap, says, "in 2023, the School of Economics and Public Policy continues its work to foster connections, spark discussions, and nurture a sense of belonging among our diverse group of faculty, staff, students, alumni, and networks. Our successes in the year - as captured by a selection of awards and achievements below - highlight what we do here at SEPP, and the potential impact on society. As we continue on our mission for a  sustainable future in 2024 and beyond, we look to inspire and empower colleagues, students, alumni, and stakeholders to engage and exchange ideas, to make a difference at our Faculty, University, and beyond."

While there have been many achievements, we have selected just a few that demonstrate what a special year this was for School of Economics students, staff, and alumni.

In no particular order:

Academic faculty awards:

  1. Professor Kym Anderson was awarded the 2022 Crawford Fund Medal.
    Crawford Fund Medals are awarded to a limited number of people who have made a considerable and continued contribution to international agricultural research through Crawford Fund programs and related activities. Professor Kym Anderson was awarded the 2022 Crawford Fund Medal for “his contribution to the development of economics in the overlapping fields of international trade and political economy, with a strong focus on agriculture and products of importance to developing economies; and his contribution through leadership roles including with ACIAR, the World Trade Organization, the World Bank, the International Food Policy Research Institute and the International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology.” Read more.
  2. Professor Sarah Wheeler receives Jill Hudson Award for Environment Protection in the 2023 SA Environment Awards.

    Professor Wheeler was nominated for efforts to encourage change in national water policy for the benefit of both South Australia and the entire Murray-Darling Basin system. Read more.

Student awards

3. Lachlan Smith, Shreya Nidumolu, Max Alfred, and Katherine Varley won the John Creswell Scholarship in the School of Economics and Public Policy.
The John Creswell Scholarship awards $5,000 to the commencing student with the highest overall selection rank who enrols in the Bachelor of Economics (Advanced). Read more.

  1. Jack Hetherington and Trang Huyen Dang won awards in the 2023 Visualise Your Thesis Awards.
    Jack Hetherington from the Centre for Global Food and Resources won Third Prize for his presentation on 'Understanding and supporting Australian cheese manufacturers to improve the utilisation of whey ', and Trang Huyen Dang won the People's Choice Award for her presentation on 'The impact of female education on maternal healthcare utilization' .

  2. Centre for Global Food and Resources students recognised at 67th Australasian Agricultural Resource Economics Society Annual Conference in Christchurch, New Zealand.

    Sara Qanti’s poster, titled "Women, Decision Making, and Dairy Technology Adoption", won the Best Poster Award.
    Nikki Dumbrell won the Best Post-Graduate Thesis Award for her Ph.D. thesis on social license in natural resource-dependent industries.
    Trang Nguyen won the EMCR Quality of Research Communication Award for her research on the determinants of household food waste disposal behaviour.

  3. At the School prize night 6 students received awards across 8 categories. 
    Fionne Ngam won the Ray Lewis Memorial Prize and the Archibald Mackie Prize; Viet An Nguyen won the E. Pollard Prize in Economic History; Tegan Jones won the NJ Thompson Memorial Prize; Henry Hawkins won the EA Russell Memorial Prize and the Michael Schneider Prize; Yuguo Ma won the John Lorenzo Young Prize and the Productivity Commission Prize; and Mitchell Natt won the Economic Society Prize in Level 2 Bachelor of Economics (Advanced).

Alumni Recognition and Achievements:

7. Professor Guy Debelle joins the School as Honorary ProfessorProfessor Debelle is a University of Adelaide Economics graduate who holds a PhD in Economics from MIT and an Honorary Doctorate in Economics from the University of Adelaide. Read more.

  1. Former Economics student Raditya Dika, Indonesian author, actor, movie director, YouTuber and social media personality with more than 30 million followers returns to campus after 20 years. Raditya reminisced on his experiences as an international student, and he received a tour from International Peer Mentor, Mai. Raditya's video of his visit has had 465,000+ views on YouTube. Watch video.

Events and news:

9.  The Centre for Global Food and Resources has run hands-on agribusiness study trips. Students from our Masters' programs visited different agribusiness premises around the state and obtained valuable experience and insights into local food industries. See more.

10. Funded under the European Union Erasmus Plus Program, the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence in Trade & Environment gathers leading academics from across the University of Adelaide with expertise in European Studies, including international trade, environment, business, entrepreneurship, and international relations to create a focal point of competence and knowledge on the European Union in the context of trade and environment. Read more.

Tagged in arts business law economics