School of Economics & Public Policy 2024 Prize Event

On Friday 3 May the School of Economics and Public Policy held its annual student prize ceremony, where staff, students, and donors gather and celebrate student achievements.

Dr Guy Debelle, Honorary Professor, Honorary Doctorate holder, and alum of the School of Economics and Public Policy, gave a speech and handed out awards.

We also had the great honour of having donors Professor Jonathan Pincus, Mrs Frances Thomson, and Mr Tim Jordan in attendance, who handed out the awards their donations make possible.

Endowed Prize Winners

  • The E. Pollard Prize in Economic History: Arth Tiwari
  • The NJ Thomson Memorial Prize: Mitchell Natt
  • The EA Russell Memorial Prize: Mitchell Natt
  • The John Lorenzo Young Prize: Longcan Li
  • The Archibald Mackie Prize: Pranaay Kumar
  • The Michael Schneider Prize: Zachary Finch and Mitchell Waugh

Excellence Award Winners

Chelsea Chhour, Hardik Kalra, Jack Maitland, Jackson Richards, Max Hagicostas, Ofelia Carreno, Rajiv Paranavithana, Reham Aamir, Thomas Searles, Arth Tiwari, Brody Florance, Fionne Ngam, Ryan Singleton, William Grow, William Llewellen Palmer, Anil T Sivapalan, Brendan Head, Charles Walsh, Cooper McCulloch, Darvesh Kukreja, Jennifer Geytenbeek, Matthew Hamdorf, Michelle Neumann, Mitchell Waugh, Mitchell Natt, Olivia Walker, Ryan Singleton, Shaun Gunawardane, Victoria Moularadellis, Viet Nguyen, Zachary Finch, Daniel Viljoen, Declan Quinn, Eden Bishop, Kar Low, Longcan Li, Shangi Gao, Caleb Hudson, Darrell Newsome, Edith Carr, Fardhani Akhzan, John Furness, Jonathan Schellenberg, Luyang Niu, Madhavi Lekha Kurumulath, Marcel Raab, Mutiara Putri, Renuka Mittal, Ruwangi Mahanamahewa, Sean Fitzpatrick, Shaval Kanaye, Simon Whitehead, Tahsin Ifnoor Sayeed, Theresa Novalia, Ka Lui, Aditya Baxi, Lachlan Jaensch, Xue Mei, Timothy Hedger, Christopher Kopasic, Ellie Neindorf, Pakajira Kajornvahart, Lounglavanh Vongxay, Vorleak Hong, Lai Mok, Yu-Jou Yu, Benjamin Wiblin, Chi Chan, Elizabeth Wood, Anak Dewi, and Sonia Andini.

The School would like to congratulate Longcan Li, who won a University Medal, as well as the John Lorenzo Young Prize and three Excellence Awards.

The School would also like to congratulate the following students for graduating with their PhDs:

  • Dr Craig Michael Johns - Exploring consumer-driven food value chain and market opportunities in Pacific SIDS countries
  • Dr Thi Thu Trang Nguyen  - Understanding the Attitudinal and Behavioural Determinants of Household Food Waste in Australia
  • Dr German Francisco Puga - Essays in Wine Economics
  • Dr Jia Song – Doctors at Work: Essays on Medical Careers, Family, and Private Practice
  • Dr Sara Ratna Qanti - Womens Participation in Intrahousehold Decision-making: A Case in Rural Smallholder Farm Households in West Java Indonesia
  • Dr Wenzhu Tang  - Investigating online market consumer behaviour through spatial, big data and machine learning approaches: cases in Daigou, e-commerce platform and NFT crypto market
  • Dr Rui Zhang - Bidding Behaviour and Efficiency in First-Price Sealed-Bid Auctions with Unknown Value Distributions
Tagged in School of Economics and Public Policy, arts business law economics, event