Lunchtime Concert - Mythic Proportions


Sophie Rowell  violin
Kristian Chong  piano

Mozart Sonata for Piano and Violin in E-flat Major, K380
Szymanowski Myths: Three Poems for Violin & Piano, Op. 30

Mozart’s extroverted K380 Sonata provides a delightful example of the composer’s mature large scale works for chamber formations in which the role of both piano and violin are completely developed into equal parts. Free from the formal constraints of the sonata and concerto, Polish composer Karol Szymanowski’s Myths is among the twentieth century’s most innovative pieces for violin and piano. The collection of poems features delightfully colourful musical depictions of ancient Greek myths as seen through a modern lens.

Concert Series 2022
Tagged in Concert Series, Lunchtime series, Elder Conservatorium of Music