Evening Concert - Taneyev Ensemble


Elizabeth Layton  violin
Stephen King  viola
Thomas Rann  cello
Konstantin Shamray  piano

Mozart Piano Quartet No. 2 in E flat major K 493
Schubert String Trio movement in B flat D 471
Taneyev Piano Quartet in E major Op. 20

Sergei Taneyev was perhaps one of Russia’s most influential and important composers of the late 19th and early 20th century. His piano quartet, written for violin, viola, cello and piano, features key elements of his compositional style – passion in the first movement, the highlight of melodic writing in the second, and an exquisite understanding of counterpoint in the third.

Concert Series 2022
Tagged in Concert Series, Evening Concert, Elder Conservatorium of Music