Lunchtime Concert - Bach Triptych

Austral Harmony

Ben Dollman  baroque violin
Jane Downer  baroque oboe & recorder
Andrew Georg  harpsichord

JS Bach  Andante from BWV 1033 in C major for recorder solo
JS Bach  Trio BWV 1014 in C major for violin, oboe & harpsichord
Anon  Fantasia BWV Anh. 86 in C minor for keyboard solo
JS Bach  Ciaccona from Partita II in D minor BWV 1004 for solo violin
Anon  Fantasia sopra Jesu, meines Lebens Leben in A minor
JS Bach  Gigue from Partita III BWV 1006 in F major for recorder
JS Bach  Trio BWV 1040 in F major for violin, oboe & harpsichord

Bach’s monumental Ciaccona for solo violin forms the central panel of Austral Harmony’s Bach Triptych. Flanking this are two seldom-heard and remarkable Fantasias displaying exceptional keyboard writing by composers from Bach’s circle. Small-scale Solos and Trios flank the centrepiece, consummating a symmetrical musical triptych.

Tagged in Lunchtime series, Elder Conservatorium of Music, Concert Series