Lunchtime Concert - A Joyous Encounter

Elder Conservatorium Chamber Orchestra

Elizabeth Layton  violin/director
Danny Yang  piano

Vivaldi  Concerto alla rustica in G major, RV 151
Mozart  Piano Concerto No. 12 in A major, K. 414
Dag Wirén  Serenade for Strings, Op. 11

For a man sometimes accused of “composing the same thing over 600 times”, Vivaldi’s Concerto alla rustica is a remarkably forward-looking work.  “What a loss to the musical world” wrote Mozart about the death of Johann Christian Bach, whilst including a theme of his mentor’s in this concerto. Dag Wirén's Serenade for Strings is a neo-classical composition characterized by its graceful and lively melodies, intricate counterpoint, and dynamic contrasts.

Tagged in Lunchtime series, Elder Conservatorium of Music, Concert Series