Lunchtime Concert - A Majestic Affair

Michael Ierace  piano
Kate Suthers  violin
Stephen King  viola
Thomas Marlin  cello

Brahms  Piano Quartet No. 2 in A major, Op. 26

Brahms drew clear inspiration from Schubert in this four-movement work which is particularly famous for being one of the longest piano quartets ever written. Rather more poised and lyrical than the more commonly played first quartet, it is laid out on a grand symphonic scale with seemingly effortless lyricism. The passionate and yearning slow movement, written when the composer was only twenty eight, anticipated his sweeping second piano concerto by some twenty years. Featuring staff members Michael Ierace, Stephen King and Thomas Marlin, with ASO concertmaster Kate Suthers.

Tagged in Elder Conservatorium of Music, Lunchtime series, Concert Series